Japanese Style Loco Moco with Mahi Mahi


Loco Moco is a dish featured in contemporary Hawaiian cuisine. There are many variations, but the traditional loco moco consists of white rice, topped with a hamburger, a fried egg, and brown gravy.

For this Recipe I used Fresh Mahi Mahi and used a Soy Sauce Mixture to give the dish a Japanese Twist.

Serves 3 Recipe time: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 400g Mahi Mahi
  • 3 servings cooked rice
  • 3 Tbsp Corn Starch
  • 2 Tsp Lemon Juice
  • 2 pinches Salt and Pepper
  • 2 pinched of Greek Seasoning
  • 1/2 Tbsp Garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp Soy Sauce, plus more to taste
  • 2 Tsp Sugar
  • 2 Tsp Mirin
  • 1 Tsp Mayonnaise
  • 3 Leaves of Lettuce or Cabbage

Take Note:

  • This dish is very filling even with small amounts
  • This recipe calls for Potato Starch, but I could only find Corn Starch
  • I switched out Olive Oil for Vegetable Oil
  • Use a Squirt bottle of Mayonnaise (I didn’t have one)
  • We added more of the Soy Sauce Mixture and Mayonnaise after we turned off the camera

Found the Recipe at this site

I changed some ingredients with what I had around the house and what I could find.

I hope you enjoy this yummy recipe!

Music From Anime:

Naruto and Naruto Shippuuden

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started